Tuscan Archipelago Museum System

A unique Museum System, spread over seven enchanting islands, facing the Tuscan coast.

These diverse lands, rich in culture and charm, will delight you with their breath-taking views and the many adventures they can offer to anyone who wants to explore their centuries-old history.

The Tuscan Archipelago Museum System (S.M.AR.T.) was created in 2020 as an instrument of cooperation aimed at promoting the archipelago’s cultural heritage.

It includes nine municipalities: Campo nell’Elba, Capraia Isola, Isola del Giglio, Marciana, Marciana Marina, Capoliveri, Porto Azzurro, Portoferraio, Rio, and the Tuscan Archipelago National Park.

Visitors will find a rich and diverse territory spread over seven islands, each with a heritage waiting to be discovered.
SMART stems from the shared need to enhance the museum offer, with a view to greater collaboration and integration, but also the promotion and development of new strategies, to give new impetus and unity to an exceptionally valuable zone.

The museums of the Tuscan archipelago offer a variety of historical and cultural experiences: archaeological parks and museums, ancient fortresses, geo-mineralogical museums, modern and contemporary art collections, mines and various types of collections which show the rich diversity of an archipelago which has been visited and inhabited since ancient times.

With stories of Etruscans, Romans and pirates intertwining with those of illustrious visitors, from Cosimo de Medici to Napoleon, there are thousands of tales just waiting to be discovered!

Head of the System: Municipality of Portoferraio

Director: dott.ssa Valentina Anselmi

President: Nadia Mazzei

To achieve the objectives described by the Convention, the following bodies of the Museum System are established:

  • The Steering Committee, chaired by the Chairman (political steering functions, is composed of the legal representatives of the member bodies)
  • The Technical-Scientific Committee, chaired by the Scientific Director (technical-scientific functions, is composed of the scientific managers of the museums belonging to the System)